2009 Tupelo Press Award and Contest Winners

Congratulations to all of the winners of 2009 Tupelo Press Awards and Contests!

Tupelo Press Dorset Prize2009 Dorset Prize

Winner: Rusty Morrison for After Urgency

Tupelo Press is delighted to announce the results of the 2009-2010 Dorset Prize, with congratulations to Rusty Morrison of Richmond, California for her manuscript, After Urgency. The winning manuscript was selected by Jane Hirshfield, this year’s judge, from a field of seventeen finalists. Ms. Hirshfields latest book is After (HarperCollins, 2006), named one of the best books of the year by The Washington Post, The San Francisco Chronicle, and The Financial Times.

Rusty Morrison’s the true keeps calm biding its story won the James Laughlin Award from the Academy of American Poets, the Northern California Book Award, and the Ahsahta Press Sawtooth Prize. Her book Whethering won the Colorado Prize for Poetry. She has also previously received the Poetry Society of America’s George Bogin, Alice Fay DiCastagnola, Cecil Hemley, and Robert H. Winner Memorial Awards, as well as the 2008 Patricia Goedicke Prize in Poetry from Cutbank, the University of Montana’s literary magazine.

Tupelo Press also wishes to congratulate Geri Doran of Eugene, Oregon, whose manuscript Sanderlings was selected runner-up by Jane Hirshfield. Ms. Doran is the author of Resin, selected by Henri Cole for the 2004 Walt Whitman Award and published by LSU Press in 2005. Her awards include a Wallace Stegner Fellowship in Poetry from Stanford University, the Amy Lowell Poetry Travelling Scholarship, and fellowships from the Bread Loaf Writer’s Conference and Literary Arts.

Tupelo Press will publish both the winning manuscript and the runner-up.

Tupelo Press also wishes to congratulate two special mentions, along with the balance of the finalists and semi-finalists:

Special Mentions:

Todd Fredson of Shelton, Washington, for The Crucifix-Blocks

Christina Hutchins of Albany, California, for World Without

Other finalists:

Hadara Bar-Nadav of Kansas City, Missouri, for The Frame Called Ruin

Bruce Bond of Denton, Texas, for Day Moon

Starkey Flythe of August, Georgia, for How’ll I know them? You’ll know them.

David Hawkins of Salt Lake City, Utah, for Dark Adaptations

Catherine Imbriglio of Providence, Rhode Island, for Rumor

Corey Marks of Denton, Texas, for The Radio Tree

Amy Newman of DeKalb, Illinois, for Dear Editor

Anne Marie Rooney of Ithaca, New York, for Life on the Mean

Natania Rosenfeld of Galesburg, Illinois, for Fruit and Memory

Brian Swann of New York, New York, for Perspectives and Other Poems: 1999-2009

Tess Taylor of Brooklyn, New York, for The Forage House

Theodore Worozbyt of Covington, Georgia, for Echo’s Recipe

Chun Ye of Falls Church, Virginia, for Lantern Puzzle


Dilruba Ahmed of Swarthmore, Pennsylvania, for Dhaka Dust

Sally Ball of Scottsdale, Arizona, for Wreck Me

Kevin Ducey of Madison, Wisconsin, for Exurban Primitives and for Taxis Full of Pilgrims

Sharon Fain of Mill Valley, California, for Demeter in the Suburbs

Cynthia Marie Hoffman of Madison, Wisconsin, for Call Me When You Want to Talk About the Tombstones

Cynthia Lowen of Brooklyn, New York, for While I Made Angels

Alice Jones of Berkeley, California, for Plunge

Ruth Moon Kempher of St. Augustine, Florida, for Weathering, on a Tilted Planet

David Keplinger of Washington, D.C., for Onion Light

George Looney of Erie, Pennsylvania, for A Short Bestiary of Love and Madness

Jen McClanaghan of Baton Rouge, Louisiana, for The Cairo Letters

Alice Miller of Wellington, New Zealand, for The Theatre

Joshua Rivkin of San Francisco, California, for Wonderlife

Lisa Rosenberg of Menlo Park, California, for Flight

Melissa Stein of San Francisco, California, for The Prodigies

Amber Flora Thomas of Fairbanks, Alaska, for Braid: Poems

Addie Tsai of Houston, Texas, for and in its place-

Daneen Wardrop of Kalamazoo, Michigan, for Parachute Stranger

Kerri Webster of St. Louis, Missouri, for About the Megafauna

Sam Witt of Charlottesville, Virginia, for Occupation: Dreamland

Berkshire Prize for First or Second Book of PoetryFirst Book Award

Winner: Daniel Khalastchi for The Maturation of Man

Tupelo Press Is Pleased to Announce the Results of the 10th Annual First Book Award. The editors of Tupelo Press and the literary journal Crazyhorse have selected the manuscript The Maturation of Man by Daniel Khalastchi of Milwaukee, Wisconsin. This book will be published in 2011.

We thank all the poets who sent us so much terrific work to consider, and we extend special appreciation and congratulations to this years Finalists.


Ari Banias of Brooklyn, New York: One the Whistler, One the Dog

Laurie Capps of Austin, Texas: Modern Recluse

Brett Foster of Wheaton, Illinois: The Garbage Eater

Christina Hutchins of Albany, California: World Without

Tanya Larkin of Somerville, Massachusetts: Enemy Love Song

Dawn Lonsinger of Salt Lake City, Utah: fatal light awareness

Jynne Martin of Brooklyn, New York: We Mammals in Hospitable Times

Kathy Nilsson of Cambridge, Massachusetts: Black Lemons

Addie Palin of Chicago, Illinois: The Cautery

Juliet Rodeman of Columbia, Missouri: Tropics of Petticoats

Amanda Rachelle Warren of Aiken, South Carolina: Some Grain of Absolute Among the Trembling

Tupelo_Snowbound_Logo_150Snowbound Series Chapbook Award

Winner: Brandon Som for If St. Augustine Were a Butcher Like My Grandfather

Tupelo Press is delighted to announce the results of our 2009 Snowbound Chapbook Award. Judge Aimee Nezhukumatathil has selected If St. Augustine Were a Butcher Like My Grandfather by Brandon Som of Los Angeles, California. This chapbook will be published in the Snowbound series in 2011.

We extend our appreciation to the winner, runner-up, and finalists, and also to all of the poets who submitted so much terrific work. Thank you for your interest in and support of Tupelo Press.


The Rafters of David by Kimberly Burwick of Lewiston, Idaho.


J. David Cummings of Menlo Park, California: Envoy

Jennifer Kwon Dobbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota: Song of a Mirror

Barbara Duffy of Salt Lake City, Utah: Hunger Practice

Eileen G’Sell of St. Louis, Missouri: Eventually Your Ribbon House

Susan Gubernat of Oakland, California: Analog House (A Cabinet of Curiosities)

Steven Lautermilch of Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina: So Hard to Say Good-bye: The Basho Dialogues

Mary Leader of West Lafayette, Indiana: The Hammer of Red and Blue

Mary Molinary of Memphis, Tennesee: Bird Signs

Mary Molinary of Memphis, Tennesee: The Translated Saint: A Departure in 5 Acts

Mary Molinary of Memphis, Tennesee: transposition

John Surowiecki of Amston, Connecticut: Mr. Niedzwiedzki’s Pink House

Jonathan Weinert of Concord, Massachusetts: Charged Particles