I Will Not Name It Except To Say

by Lee Sharkey


“In her vibrant I Will Not Name It Except to Say, Sharkey teaches her throat ‘the sounds of a new language.’ Sharkey’s lyrical precision, wild imagery, and heart-breaking tenderness weave connections and trouble, ranging from the pleasures of old love to improvisations on German Expressionism, family memory, a provocative spiritualism, and difficult history. In every poem, Sharkey makes her readers strive with the poet to speak new words and to see through the searing perceptions that Sharkey’s poems have made newly possible.” —Janice Harrington

ISBN: 978-1-946482-49-5 Categories: , , ,

Lee Sharkey is the author of Walking Backwards (Tupelo, 2016), Calendars of Fire (Tupelo, 2013), and five earlier books of poems, as well as a number of chapbooks. Her poetry has appeared in numerous publications, including Consequence, FIELD, Kenyon Review, and Tikkun, and has received many awards, including the 2017 Ballymaloe International Poetry Prize and the 2018 Maine Literary Award in Poetry. She served for fifteen years as co-editor of the Beloit Poetry Journal.


Format: Paperback
Published: May 2021

Additional information

Weight 0.25 lbs